Mr. President 2016 – Chapter 42


https://mrpresident2016.wordpress.com

Chapter 42

AS SOON AS MADISON and his team had sped out of the parking lot, in pursuit of answers to Marlene’s questions and the terrorist, Ruyah al-Basir, Dr. Kenneth Wilson who’d been watching them from the interrogation room’s window that overlooked the parking lot, sat back down, leaned to his right, reached out and grabbed a hold of Marlene’s arm.

It was the first time, in the six years that he’d known her, that he’d actually physically touched her in any way at all.

“Mind telling me what that was about.”

“What!  Ken, I only allowed you to set in on the meeting because you brought us food.  Thank you,” Marlene answered, looking first down at his pale slightly pink hand on her arm and then back up into his incredibly warm blue eyes.  “But now, you’re going too far if you think I’m going to tell you any more sensitive FBI information.  That’s illegal and you know it.”

Inhibited by what he mistook as anger, he pulled his hand away.

“Marlene, you didn’t even ask the man if he’d killed Former President Daniels.”

“I didn’t have to,” Marlene answered.  “Given that we have the actual hospital video of him entering Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, I know he wasn’t even in town when Daniels was killed,” answered Marlene, stuffing the photos she’d handed Madison back into her briefcase.

I don’t even know for sure if he’s innocent or guilty and I’m the guy who performed the autopsy.  And how do you know for sure that’s him in that video?  He could have gotten one of the other guys in his unit – God knows they all look the same; tall, beefy, and good looking – to dress up as him and parade through the hospital for the sake of the camera.”

Marlene pushed back her chair and stood up.

“Ken, I’m the FBI Director,” she teased, kinda of jazzed that he was wholly on her side and more than willing to fight for her.  And with her.

“Of course I know that’s him in the video.”

“Marlene you need some sort of solid proof of his innocence.  Not just your instinct that he didn’t shoot Daniels.”

“No, I don’t,” she answered, becoming annoyed.  “I only need proof if I was going to arrest him for the murder.  Which I’m not.”

“Marlene,” Dr. Ken shouted, grabbing her arm and forcing her to listen.  “Letting him go could mean your career.”

Now, she understood.   He’d heard the rumors.

“My career,” Marlene repeated, sounding somewhat whimsical.  “Well there it is.  No doubt you’ve heard the rumors that President Stone isn’t exactly happy with my performance as FBI Director.  Or should I say my unwillingness to look the other way regarding his extramarital affairs, using campaign funds to bribe his former mistress into keeping her mouth shut,” Marlene smiled at the allegory.  “Or his hate speech filled war with the media, or his dismissal of the Intelligence Staff’s warnings concerning his mishandling of foreign affairs, or his rolling back of established laws that were passed by Congress, intended to help the very people who we’ve both been sworn to protect.

And just between us, Ken,” she said, wrenching free of his grasp, “I stopped counting on a long career as FBI Director a few months after Stone was elected.  And I especially don’t count on one, if he gets reelected.  Which, given all the dirty back room deals he has going, I’m sure he will.”

“If his being reelected means losing you, I’ll do everything in my power to prevent that from happening.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment